Institut für Kognitionswissenschaft

Institute of Cognitive Science

Osnabrück University navigation and search

Main content

Top content

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Gordon Pipa


Head of the Neuroinformatics


Room: 50/218
Institute of Cognitive Science
Wachsbleiche 27
49090 Osnabrück, Germany



Christina Vidovic

Personal Assistant and
Secretary of the lab

Tel. +49 (0)541 969-2390    
Fax +49 (0)541 969-2246

Room: 50/217
Institute of Cognitive Science
Wachsbleiche 27
49090 Osnabrück, Germany




Curriculum Vitae (CV PDF)


  • 2010 - Habilitation, Biology, University of Technology Darmstadt, Germany
  • 2006 - PhD, Dep. of Neural Information Processing, Berlin Universityof Technology, Germany
  • 2002  Diploma, Max Planck Institute for Brain Research and the Faculty of Physics, J. W. Goethe
    University, Frankfurt am Main, Germany
  • 9/1995–5/2001 Diploma-Studies in Physics, RWTH-Aachen University, Germany


Gordon Pipa became Full professor (W3) and chair of the Neuroinformatics department at Institute of Cognitive Science at the University of Osnabrueck in Germany at the age of 36. Before he had hold a Group leader postion in Prof. Wolf Singer Department of Neurophysiology, Max Planck Institute for Brain Research, Frankfurt am Main, Germany and a Junior fellow position at the Frankfurt Institute for Advanced Studies (FIAS), Frankfurt am Main, Germany. Between 2007 and 2009 he was a Research fellow with Prof. Emery Brown with an joint appointment at the Dep. of Brain and Cognitive Sciences at the MIT, Cambridge, and the Dep. of Anesthesia and Critical Care at Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston.

Awards and Honors

  • Best Innovation Award of the University Osnabrück (2015)
  • Nominated for Best Lecturer Award of the University Osnabrück (2012)MainCampus Educator, for young rising stars (2008–2010)
  • Scholarship of the German National Academic Foundation, state scholarship(1995–2001)
  • Awarded as a young talent with outstanding creativity, International Zermatt Symposium for ’Creativity and Leadership’ (1997)
  • Triple prize winner in the German contest for young scientists (Jugend Forscht,1995–1996):
  • Reception by the German President Prof. Dr. Roman Herzog and Chancellor Helmut Kohl
  • Honorary medal of the Friedrich Bläse Foundation
  • Reception at the Nobel Laureate Meeting in Lindau, hosted by Count L. Bernadotte of Wisborg