Institut für Kognitionswissenschaft

Institute of Cognitive Science


Osnabrück University navigation and search


Main content

Top content

What is the Lab Rotation Course?

The Lab Rotation course gives students the opportunity to gain practical experience in different areas of Cognitive Science. To complete the course the student must visit 5 labs for 1 week, these labs can be IKW or non-IKW labs (a list is provided below).

General Procedure

Make sure that you are enrolled in the Lab Rotation course on Stud.IP. You will only get a "Schein" (course certificate) if you are enrolled in the course before starting your rotations.

Pick your labs

Choose 5 labs which you would like to visit for 1 week each and contact the respective lab leader so that you can schedule the dates for your lab visits. Further down, there are two lists of participating IKW and non-IKW labs. You can also contact non-IKW labs and arrange for an “internship” there on your own. Keep in mind that these labs should be associated with Cognitive Science in some way. In case of non-IKW labs that are not on the list below, please send an email to labrotation@uos.de before finalizing your “Laufzettel”. The Dean of Studies has to approve these labs first before you can proceed with your lab rotation. No more than one or (at the maximum) two stations of the Lab Rotation should be completed outside our university. As a rule, the stations are completed within the working groups of the IKW.
Once you have made your decisions, please fill in your “Laufzettel” (routing card) which you can download from the StudIP course and send it to labrotation@uos.de

Complete your labs

At the end of every lab visit, have your respective supervisor enter your grade on the “Laufzettel”. The grade must be numerical like university course grades. Letter grades or just pass/fails grade are NOT accepted! Your supervisor or the lab’s leader also have to sign that you completed your visit.

At the end of your labs tour (i.e. having visited all of the required 5 labs), send an email to labrotation@uos.de. Your final grade which is the average of the 5 individual lab grades will be calculated and a “Schein” (course certificate) will be created and send to the examination office.

List of all participating labs

List of all IKW labs

Research group Head of lab or other person(s) to contact Email
Cognitive Modelling N.N. (t.b.a.)
Computational Linguistics Dr. Elia Bruni elia.bruni@uos.de
Psycho/Neurolinguistics Prof. Dr. phil. Nicole Gotzner ngotzner@uos.de
Cognitive Psychology Dr. Anette Hohenberger annette.hohenberger@uos.de
Artificial Intelligence Prof. Dr. phil. Kai-Uwe Kühnberger kkuehnbe@uos.de
Neurobiopsychology Prof Dr. med. Peter König
Jasmin Walter, BSc
pkoenig@uos.de
jawalter@uos.de
Neuroinformatics Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Gordon Pipa gpipa@uos.de
Biologically oriented Computer Vision Prof. Dr.-Ing. Gunther Heidemann gheidema@uos.de
Philosophy of Mind and Cognition Prof. Dr. phil. Achim Stephan
Prof. Dr. phil. Sven Walter
acstepha@uos.de
s.walter@philosophy-online.de
Knowledge-Based Systems Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Joachim Hertzberg hertzberg@informatik.uni-osnabrueck.de
Comparative BioCognition Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Simone Pika spika@uos.de

List of all non-IKW labs

Research Group Head of lab or other person(s) to contact Email
Allg. Psychologie II und Biologische Psychologie
FB 8: Inst. für Psychologie
Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Ursula Stockhorst ursula.stockhorst@uni-osnabrueck.de
Psychologie
FB 8: Allgemeine Psychologie
Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Thomas Gruber thomas.gruber@uni-osnabrueck.de
Psychologie
FB 8 Entwicklungs-psychologie
Prof. Dr. Maarten van Zalk mavanzalk@uni-osnabrueck.de
Neurobiologie
FB 5: Biologie/Chemie
Prof. Dr. Roland Brandt robrandt@uos.de
Smart Embedded Systems
FB 6: Mathematik/Informatik
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Werner Brockmann wbrockma@uni-osnabrueck.de
Verhaltensbiologie
FB 5: Biologie/Chemie
Prof. Dr. Chadi Touma chadi.touma@uni-osnabrueck.de
Anglistik/Sprachwissenschaft
FB 7: Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft
Prof. Dr. phil. Alexander Bergs, M.A. abergs@uos.de
Bildgebung
Universitätsklinikum Hamburg-Eppendorf / Imaging Center NeuroImage Nord (NIN), Klinik für Psychiatrie und Psychotherapie
Prof. Dr. med. Christoph Mulert
Dr. med. Gregor Leicht
c.mulert@uke.de
g.leicht@uke.de
feelSpace GmbH Silke Kärcher, MSc
Jessika Schwandt, MSc
Susan Wache, MSc
www.feelspace.de
Bergische Universität Wuppertal
Lehrstuhl für Technologien und Management der Digitalen Transformation
Dr.-Ing. André Pomp pomp@uni-wuppertal.de
umlaut GmbH, Aachen Dr. Max Haberstroh max.haberstroh@umlaut.com
eyeTrax
Albert-Einstein-Str 1
49076 Osnabrück
Jasmin Mattern jasmin.mattern@mindq.de
MindQ
Albert-Einstein-Str 1
49076 Osnabrück
Björn Fuhrmann Post@MindQ.de
DAAD Rise Worldwide Students, who had the chance to be accepted for a DAAD Rise Worldwide internship, may have this internship (once successfully accomplished) acknowledged as one „external“ lab for the Lab-Rotation www.daad.de/rise/en/rise-worldwide/